I heart Mince Pies

Standard

This Christmas time I am hooked on the taste of Mince Pies, I cant get enough of them, they are so sweet and yum and perfect for a greedy guts like me.

I can see the American peeps looking at me in horror, but Mince Pies actually contain NO meat!! Neigh, Neigh and thrice Neigh, I titter ye not! Mince pies are small sweet pies full of sugar and spice and all things nice, currants, sultanas, raisins, candied peel and lots of naughty stuffs! Mmmm perfect accompaniment with a cup of coffee.

You can read more about the history of the humble mince pie here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mince_pie

http://woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/customs/Xmas/mincepies.htm

Nom nom nom

One response »

  1. I love mince pies but due to a gluten intolerance I can’t have it in pies any more. 😦 Miss the lovely flaky crust with hot mince and cold vanilla icecream. (drool, drool, drool)
    I have an very tasty recipe for mincemeat made with green tomatoes. VERY GOOD!
    Thanks for giving me a moment to sit and think about pies and desserts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

