My 12 Tags Of Christmas Art From Day Four

Standard

Yesterday I took a day off from making tags because I was feeling ouchie and needed to rest, I spent the evening watching the last instalment in the Harry Potter Series – Deathly Hallows Part 2 on DVD while I recovered.

Today I started making my tags a little earlier than usual, I was fired up and ready to go!

I started out by using some Snowflake Chipboard blanks I had, I wanted to add some alternative texture to them to the crackle paints so I decided to use White School PVA/Elmers Glue and Golden Moulding Paste – not on the same snowflake (some snowflakes had paste on the others had glue)

To get a suitable texture I swiped the glue/paste direct onto one of the snowflakes, and then placed another snowflake on top into the ‘goo’ and then I swished the 2 snowflakes around together then pulled them apart to reveal an instant texture.

I set the moulding paste snowflakes aside to air dry a little and began to work on the pva glue snowflakes by force drying them using a heat tool, as you heat up the school glue it bubbles a little thus giving you a lovely texture to work with.

When Id finished with the gluey snowflakes I forced dried the moulding paste snowflakes using my heat tool.

Colour was added to all snowflakes using Brilliance Inkpads in Mediterranean Blue and Light Blue Metallic one (forget the name of it) I pressed the inkpads directly on the showflakes and used my finger tips to swirl the colours around to make them look 3 dimensional.

You can see a photo of my textured snowflakes below:

Next I began work on my tag backgrounds:

I placed a single tag onto my work top and sprayed it first with plain water, next I sprayed over it with Turquouse Blue and Radiant Rain Blue Kingfisher Spray Inks and then I sprayed on a small misting of Silver Mica Spray.

When the tag was saturated with colour, I took a plain un-inked tag and pressed it over the top of the inky tag to transfer the colour onto it and smooshed it around a little – thus inking up 2 tag  backgrounds at the same time and then heat set.

I repeated this step till I had enough tags in shades of blue.

Next I repeat stamped a snowflake stamp set I have using Brilliance White Inks and heat set.

Below is a pixxie of what some of the tags below:

Once my tags and snowflakes were ready it was time to assemble my tags and finish them off, I used a lovely white snowflake printed Christmas gift ribbon as my main embellishment which I bought from Asda (supermarket) and various buttons and brads to finish. I also used my silver paint pen to border the tags and pull out some highlights on the actual snowflakes themselves.

You can see all my tags below, I really enjoyed making theses as I love snowflake designs:

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

