12 Tags Of Christmas Day One Preparation & Experiments

Standard

Today I finally finished up my tags inspired by the first tag on Tim’s 12 Tags Of Christmas, mine look nothing like his as I dont have any of the supplies so I substituted pratically everything 🙂

Pine Cone’s

I didnt have a pine cone die cut but not to be outdone, I came across something growing on a tree which wasnt pine cones but looked rather like them only much smaller. You can see pictures of my finds below:

Close Up:

Mini Pine Cones Coated With Paint:

Making Paper Poinsettia’s

As well as these pine cones I decided to make some festive paper flowers for my tags too, these are easy to make, you can see the photo below of the finished flowers:

How I made the flowers:

I drew a basic shape in pencil to make a template, if you look at the photo’s below you can see how easy it is to create:

Once I had my template I cut out shapes from printed paper and scrapbook papers and added colour to them using cranberry adirondack colour wash sprays, see the photos below for more info:

Spray ink onto the shape:

Then smudge with a sponge to distribute the colour – inking both sides.

Once the shapes are dry you can assemble at least 2 layers together using a brad to secure them. I added a few hand drawn holly and foliage leaves cut from green card to the back of each shape to complete it.

If your unsure how to draw the leaves use the following template drawing as a guide:

Stamping With Embossing Folders:

For the main background on my tags I experimented with Tim’s idea for stamping with the embossing folder, I only have 3 embossing folders so didnt have many to choose from but used what I did have 🙂

I didnt cut the embossing folder apart as directed by Tim as I didnt want to spoil them so used them whole.

I stamped a variety of backgrounds using: Versamark Inkpad, Brilliance White Ink Pad, Brilliance White Re-inkers and White Acrylic Paint and heat embossed them with either clear embossing powder or clear glitter embossing powder to add a bit of texture.

I did notice that you got a more stronger impression from the embossing folder if you rolled over the back of it with a clean brayer:

Punchinella Resist Backgrounds:

Another way of creating backgrounds for my tags was using white acrylic paint quickly swiped across a piece of card as below:

While the paint was still wet I then placed a sheet of punchinella over the top of it and used a clean kitchen towel to rub inbetween the holes of the sequin waste like below:

Finished Background Below:

This technique also works with Brilliance Re-inkers too and gesso 🙂

See my next blog post for completed art work I created 🙂

Leave a Reply

