Embossed Metal Artist Trading Cards

Standard

Ive been saving up disposable metal cooking tin trays from the supermarket that I buy my ready to roast veggies in for use in an art project for a while now.

To start with, I cut the metal trays up into workable sheets and used a rubber brayer to completely flatten the tins out and remove all the folds and ridges.

Using a permanent marker I drew basic tree and star shapes onto the metal sheets and then cut the shapes out using scissors.

Next I dug out my Fiskars Texture plates, placed the shapes on one of the texture sides and then using a large ball ended embossing tool I scraped along the surface of the metal shape to emboss the metal.

To add colour I used permanent marker pens scribbled directly on the metal itself.

Hint – if you add 2 or 3 complimentary marker colours onto the metal you can use your fingertips to blend the shades together and add a multicolour shape.

When I was happy with how they looked I assembled the shapes onto atcs which you can see below.

I also added some close up photos of the actual embossed/debossed metal areas too (click on pics to enlarge):

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

